top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureProject Unheard

Artist Insight #11 - Georgia Bray


UK-based artist Georgia Bray releases her first debut single, Hotel Room. Georgia’s voice is silvery yet soothing and harmonious, she has mastered the art of blending jazz and pop into a rhythmic and snappy sound, taking cues from Julie London, Corrine Bailey Rae and Yazmin Lacy. After featuring on The Voice UK 2019 and All Together Now 2018, her debut single, Hotel Room, showcases a blend of dance and the 70’s funk and jazz, along with her melodically and colourful vocals.


With her debut single 'Hotel Room' coming out this month we are super excited for everyone to hear the sweet-sounding tune. We got to have a quick chat with the star about her music career and upcoming plans.

What has inspired you to keep going and push for this debut single?

Since appearing on The Voice UK I’ve been working really hard perfecting my sound as a Jazz-Pop Artist. Taking inspiration from Jazz, Pop, Funk/ Neo Jazz music styles I explored and created my debut single ‘Hotel Room’ which tells the story of a lovers first night together. It’s colourful, melodic and brings an irresistible blend of 70’s era Funk/Jazz, fully embodying who I am as an artist. It’s upbeat and feel-good energy hopes to uplift people during these hard times in lockdown and also inspire other artist’s and musos to keep perusing their music.

How was it going on the Voice? Surely it was an amazing experience

I really enjoyed my experience on The Voice UK, my coach was Olly Murs who was amazing! He helped push my boundaries and gave great constructive feedback on my performances on the show. During my time on The Voice I was also able to work with other music industry professionals and connect with aspiring artists

What artists do you look up too? Which ones shape the music you put out"

I take inspiration from all kinds of artists and music genres, but I mostly look up Artist’s, Corrinne Bailey Rae, Yazmin Lacy and Lianne La Havas. I enjoy writing music from my own experiences and tend to focus on my own sound than use other artists as references.

"Do we get more tracks after ‘Hotel Room’?"

Yes, after the release of ‘Hotel Room’ there will be an Official Music Video which will be active 6th March on my YouTube Channel. I’m also currently working on my EP which is set to be released early summer 2021, to follow this I hope to have Live gigs to help promote my music and interact with fans.

"One piece of advice you’d give others?"

Believe in your sound and vision, focus on your own achievements and don’t compare yourself to others.

bottom of page