top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureProject Unheard

Artist Insight #12 - Maybe Fane


On this week's artists insights, we would like to introduce the one and only Maybe Fane. Maybe Fane is a hip hop/ rap artist who has just dropped his debut album ‘Exodus’. This album includes some amazing singles such as ‘Just Not You’, ‘I Feel like Shit’ and ‘Tattered’.


We are so excited to see what new music he will produce next

In light of the release of this track, project unheard is honoured to ask some question about Maybe Fane’s journey so far and what he has planned for his future in the music industry.


This is only the beginning for Maybe Fane, with his debut album just released he has a bright future ahead waiting for him.

How does it feel finally knowing you’ve got a debut album out?

Cloud nine. I’ve been trying to finish something for over two years now. My original goal was a twenty-two track album, that got scrapped, then two nine-track albums that both were scrapped. Now that this one is done, it feels like it’s all been worth it. When I finished recording for it, I kinda had an out of body experience. It was like I was still in my own body, but still looking down at myself in my studio. It was crazy.

At what point did you decide that you wanted to take music up seriously?

Probably March of 2020. Up until that point, I was super complacent with my music and refused to re record. It was very half effort up until then. Quarantine helped me think and made me realize I need to be worker so much harder at music if I want to go somewhere.

How would you describe your music to new listeners?"

Unorthodox emotional hip hop. For this album at least, I call it basement pop. I’m kinda in a weird transition phase right now, after finishing the album I have strong intentions to dabble into cloud rap.

"What’s the most important factor for you when making music?"

Objective quality. If the vocals are on pitch and in key, the beat is well-produced, and the overall song is well mixed and mastered, I’m happy with it. I think if all of those things are true, then somebody will like it. Sometimes if I don’t like how something is turning out, I’ll subconsciously put less effort into it, and that definitely shows in the final product. That’s one of my downfalls, I’m slowly learning to put maximum effort into every aspect of music.

bottom of page