top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureProject Unheard

Artist Insight #3 - Oshua



Hailing from Perth, Oshua is the next artist making ways in the land down under. With several tracks already out, he is in full swing captivating listeners with the laidback vibe radiated from his music. His latest track 'Monke' which takes influence from The Last Airbender has already surprised old fans and new. Oshua is definitely someone that is not to be slept on.


We had a quick chat with him about his Music and his latest single 'Monke'!

Monke, your new single, what’s the idea behind it? What inspired it really?

The idea behind "Monke" is that I wanted to create a song which captured the feeling of bedroom boredom but I specifically wanted it to have clear influences from Avatar The Last Airbender, I was inspired by the music in Avatar, it made me really fall in love with the airy sound of the Kalimba and thats where the idea for "Monke" started, once I fleshed out the idea I recorded my vocals over it and "Monke" was ready for release.

“What’s your top 3 artists of all time?”

A really REALLY tough question, I don't really have an all-time list but this is who I have been listening to the most over the past few years:

- The Late Juice Wrld

- Playboi Carti

- Tyler, The Creator


I've been seriously invested in the Hip-Hop genre - as you can tell.

“What’s the reason you’ve chosen to pursue your music? What advice would you give others who want to start?”

Well I started making music as a joke and as a means to feel productive during quarantine/while I'm up at night, I started around April of this year and my first actual song was met with a lot of love which led to me thinking "well if people enjoy listening then there's no harm in releasing more songs" and honestly I'm pursuing music because it makes me happy, I simply enjoy the process, its something I never saw myself (seriously, never) doing but I became way too addicted and I don't see that addiction going away any time soon.


I am not by any means experienced enough to be handing out advice but the one thing I have realised clearly is that artists NEED to use Discord. There are SO many communities for artists, producers and engineers etc, imagine Reddit but everything is a live discussion/voice chat on the musical topic of your choice.

“Do you have a certain time you need to write songs or is it spontaneous?"

100% spontaneous, I try to listen to a lot of beats and a lot of different music and whatever I enjoy listening to - I write to.


If I don't have a vocal melody straight away for a beat/instrumental then I don't even bother writing, some songs I write in 15 or so minutes and others I spend days/weeks tweaking lines and words.

“Future tracks? What’s the next step for you?"

Now that it is summertime, I plan to release one single every 2-3 weeks and I aim to maintain this release schedule for the foreseeable future. I also want to try and release a song through a label. My next single titled "Waste My Time" is releasing on the 11th of December :)


Oshua is definitely gonna keep up busy with more music coming our way! Cant wait to see what's next up his sleeve and it would be amazing to see him grow!


Keep up with the Artist Insight series and follow our Instagram @projectunheard for more!



bottom of page