top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureProject Unheard

Artist Insight #4 - Jackie Therrien



Next up on our Artist Insight series is Jackie Therrien! The Indie singer, songwriter and musician is an all in one talent that has released her latest album 'Dreaming'. The album shows off her great talent as a multi-instrumentalist with several songs consisting of acoustic sets. With simple love songs that tell true stories to other tracks inspired by her idols, it has received nothing but positive feedback since it's release.


We here at Project Unheard got a chance to ask her a few questions about her journey so far and 'Dreaming', her latest album.

What was the main theme behind 'Dreaming'?

The main theme behind my latest and second album Dreaming was really just looking back at everything that had happened to me in the past couple months. I wrote, recorded and produced the whole album in quarantine, which was not at all planned, but being in quarantine pretty much put my whole life on pause and it gave me time to look back at everything that had happened. I named the album Dreaming because a lot of this album is based of of wishful thinking, day dreaming, and night dreaming. It was my sophomore year of high school, so all the songs are about the ups and downs of relationships and crushes. Having time to look back on all of that and really think about it, I realized a lot. I realized that there was a relationship I shouldn’t have been in, that there were a LOT of mistakes made, and that there was someone I had really been missing for a long time...even if it took me awhile to admit it to myself.

Which artists inspire your sound? Who are the people you grew up listening too?

A few artists that inspire my sound are Taylor Swift, Maisie Peters, LÉON, and Lana Del Rey (but there are SO many more!). I grew up listening to Taylor Swift, and she’s always inspired me, but I remember listening to a lot of stuff when I was younger. My parents and family aren’t at all musical, but they love listening to music, so I grew up listening to lots of different kinds of music from all different genres and decades.

What’s the next goal? What do you look to achieve in 2021?”

I’ve been writing a lot lately, so right now my next goal I think is to just write a good group of songs that I feel confident enough in to release, which probably won’t be for a little while. Other than that, right now I’m a junior in high school so I plan on auditioning for Berklee College of Music in 2021!


It was so cool to see her second album do so well, she has so much more ahead of her and this is just the beginning for Jackie. Especially being in highschool with a second album already released shows how bright the future looks for her!



bottom of page