top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureProject Unheard

Artist Insight #5 - Courtney Jacobs



We are back with another Artist release! This week we are featuring Courtney Jacobs, an American singer/songwriter that produces pop, synth-heavy sound and even funky tracks. We looked at her latest single 'Let me' and got to ask her a few questions about her journey so far.


What made you pursue music and who inspired you along the way?

I’ve been singing since I was young, but I was always extremely shy on stage. In college, I learned to love interacting with audiences through singing in an a cappella group and I got into the music scene with my rock band Silver Retriever (@silverretrieverband on Instagram) in 2019. My solo pop project took off this summer when I released my debut single “Canary” July 1. I write music to set a moment in stone, to wrap up how I feel about a situation into just a couple of minutes. It’s like a therapy session for me, and I can always go back and listen to the song to remember how I’ve grown since that moment. I released my second and third singles this year and I couldn’t be happier with where I’m headed! Thanks to everyone who’s listened to my music so far, and keep your eyes peeled for two singles out in January.

How does it feel when you put out new music and you get positive feedback?

I’ve been really lucky to be able to connect with so many other artists over the past 6 months I’ve been releasing music. I’ve tried to build a community around genuinely supporting other artists who believe that someone else’s success does not take away from your own success, but actually adds richness and value to the community. Due to this mindset and a great group of new friends, I’ve received such great support and feedback on my music and I’m so grateful for that! I try to pay it forward by supporting artists who are just starting out because I’ve been there - literally 6 months ago.

“'Let me' is lovely has a real dreamy vibe to it. How did that come about?"

For “let me” I had the chance to work with two producers for the first time. The original instrumental was created by the incredibly talented Koka (@kokatheproducer on Instagram) and Peter Wellman (@weterpellman on Instagram) added more instruments and mixed/mastered the song. I worked with Peter for my first two singles, Canary and Heat Dream, so I knew he could get the job done and take the song to the next level. For the vocals, I recorded several layers for the main vocal melody as well as the harmonies, so the overlaps and slight differences between the vocal lines resulted in a dreamy effect.


What's your main goal for 2021?"

My current goal is to release an EP in the fall of 2021. This year I’ve been finding my “sound” and I want to keep trying different styles while I’m still new to the game. I hope to develop a cohesive collection of songs over the course of this year and work with a variety of instrumentalists and producers to make this project special.


It is so satisfying to see so many people pursue their passion for music even when it's one of the hardest industries out there. We hope people are aspired by artists like Courtney and continue to pursue their goals no matter how hard they look!



bottom of page