top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureProject Unheard

Artist Insight #7 - ZAY


We are back with another Artist Insight! This week it's 'ZAY'. This young but powerful voice hailing from California is sure to surprise all his listeners. Every track on his latest album fits cohesively to the message he is sending. Looks like nothing his stopping him from making 2021 his best year so far!


'Waterfall' has it's own unique story behind it and is a platform to express himself and inspire others.

With the release of his new album we were so pleased to ask him a few questions about his journey so far and what he has planned for his bright future!

What inspired you to really pursue music at such a young age? What was the moment that made you take it seriously?

I had always wanted to write songs and play guitar and piano and make music. I grew up in a family full of musicians so I was always surrounded by music. Rock, Country, Jazz, Blues, Hip-Hop, R&B, Soul, Pop, Reggae etc. Just everything you can possibly imagine was at one point playing in my house. I started writing when I was 14, I had just gotten my first keyboard and I started teaching myself chords and started fully getting ready to write my first EP. I had no recording stuff back then, so I went to my local library cause they had a free studio that you could use for 2 hours at a time and that's where I recorded the "Suicide EP" with a producer named Charlie Dale. I was 15 when I recorded the EP and I'm about to be 17 this year and it's so amazing and incredible how far I've come and I'm really happy I started so young so I could make mistakes now and figure stuff out now and learn how to make everything a little better along the way.

Which artist inspires you and the music that you make?

So many artists inspire me to create and to write. I'm a pop music junky so I'm all about Lady Gaga, Madonna, Katy Perry, Kesha etc. But I love so many different artists from each genre of music. Right now and I think for the past year, the main artist that inspires me to work on my songwriting is Taylor Swift. She's just so talented and very very smart. I love her alot and I think about what she would do when I'm writing all the time.

Your new album ‘Waterfall’ is out now! What was the idea behind the album and the message you're spreading?"

Yes!!! My new album! It's been about a year in the making but I really started recording it and coming up with the concept in around early fall. Waterfalls is a very personal album and all these songs are about something I've learned and experienced over the past year. I see this album as a box, filled with lessons and events that have changed my life for the better and things I've learned that have made me become a better human being, brother, son, cousin, nephew etc. In the 2020 year. The main message that I want people to get from this album is that learning from mistakes is so painful sometimes, but it can also change your life In the most beautiful and fulfilling way....and that's what this record and all the things I talk about in it did for me.

How long have you been around music for? How long do you plan too?"

I've been writing for about 3 years. I've been releasing music for almost 2 years. I don't think I ever will stop. I hope to be like 80 years old playing at coffee shops with my guitar and being like "My 50th album Tea Time In The Sun will be out next week". I never want to stop writing. I never want to stop creating visuals and Making music. I'm turning 18 next year, I'll be going to college, working a job, getting an apartment etc. I'm incredibly excited for that journey but of course, it will keep me from being able to focus on music all the time, so I've decided to make the most of it now.

What’s next after the album? Any plans for new music in 2021?

I'll have some more music videos come out in support of this album and do some fun promo stuff but I don't really know about new music. Maybe? If I was going to release more music this year it would be towards fall. I just wanna focus on this record and keep surprising everyone.


Zay has been working super hard ever since his debut in 2019, going through various different themes and consistently releasing music. If anyone deserves more recognition it's him, so please do check out his music!



bottom of page